Time and work

by phoxis

Along with a few other changes, last year has been a calendar-less year for me, which is I purposely did not maintain any calendar and neither did any time management. What I maintained is just a few essential TODO lists, like bill payment, maintenance etc. After exactly one year, what I understand is important, which a few others have agreed to feel the same. I will write down the main points in brief.

False feel of work

As there is no calendar maintained and no such management, the works are done as they come. Somehow there is a feel that there is a lot of work to be done and a lot of work is being done. This “feel of work” can be misleading. For me it was. Although throughout a period it feels great “oh man! I am doing a hell of a lot of work!”, but when I went back to evaluate most of the time it was chewing on the same thing again and again and not letting anything much progress. For me, I suspect it is because there is less visibility on what actually has to be done (no formal management of work or calendar) I tend to stay in the comfort zone and be satisfied with whatever I am doing good, or maybe just feeling that I am doing good. This is very dangerous as this does not let one move to new unknown things, as they come as hard barriers.

Take away: When I feel I am working a lot, check if I am stuck somewhere.

Poor feel of joy

Though the last year nothing much negative impact or bad has happened with respect to work. But without the management, there was lesser sense of joy when a work is done. This year I have been dining out a lot. When I tell a lot, it is really a LOT. When compared to the previous approach, which was like a reward system. One thing done, I get a dinner out with friends, it was more enjoyable. And as every time it feels there is something to do, the mind will not be able to enjoy the reward. Therefore in this aspect I believe to maintain a very good mix of work and “non-work ” portions of the time, a calendar or other types of management is essential. Like, in on 2014 it was like once the “work” ends it’s done for the day (with flexible exceptions) and I go for the “non-work” things. I believe this will help one on the long run.

Take away: Reward mechanism works well. The work gets done well, the reward is even more fulfilling.

 

Calendar or management is not a hard thing, like you work 8 hours and do something else on the rest of the time. It is like you yourself fix somethings to be done, and then follow them. If needed modify them. It is made by you for yourself and to be seen by yourself only. Therefore there is no bluffs. Like you do things for 3 hours and record 8 hours. It will never work like that.

In reality it does not actually require that much of effort, just needs some patience and follow the first week religiously. The overall takeaway from this is: It can be easier and sometimes more efficient to work without doing any management of time, but if one wants to scale up, it should be done. But, the even more essential thing is, if the management is not done properly, and ends up only to a number game, better not do it, because then it will do more harm than good.

