New year blog changes

by phoxis

At the end after 6 years I did some layout changes in the other blog. In my opinion the Twenty Ten theme in wordpress.com, which came out in 2010, is possibly the best theme with tons of features, while being a very clean one. It was very difficult to get a theme to which I can switch.

Yesterday, I just thought to check out what new themes were introduced. I realised that it has been 6 years I am using the theme Twenty Ten. After much testing, I found that the theme Ixion is a pretty good one. It has side columns, top menus and also four columns at the bottom of the page. This allows me to switch to this theme following my layout.

Twenty Ten is a very nice theme, and I was using it for 6 years, therefore it is actually very difficult to move. Although there was a few things which I kind of did not like in Ixion, but overall it was pretty good. Therefore it is now changed.

I have three links list, Friends, Cool Blogs and Preferred Sites. I did not maintain this list. Yesterday I noticed a huge amount of sites and blogs does not exist anymore, or the authors have stopped posting, some have last posts on 2011 or so. Therefore it is time to get rid of the stale sites and get the lists shortened. Now it looks much shorter and tidy. In the next opportunity some more removals and some interesting additions are required.

Although I have kept the Friends blog list intact. I found almost all of them do not update the blogs anymore. One of them has been the consistent for around 5 years of blog post and produces quality sports articles. He has been also featured in the top fifteen blogs list.

It was not bad to change the blog in the beginning of this year. It would also be good if  I am able to keep on documenting the ongoing workflow and make quick posts. For which I have introduced a tag “workflow” to write quick and interesting articles which are potentially unfinished or under-researched.

While fiddling with the blog stats, I came to know that the top 10 visited posts have brought around 50% of the total traffic in these 8 years. The interesting thing was these articles were not very difficult to write, actually they were easy, which required very less time and effort. Although the extremely well researched and exhaustive articles got plenty of views, but not even close to these top 10 articles. Possibly the hard worked articles were for a very niche reader group, and the top 10 ones were quick google on “how to do this or that” kind of quick things.

For this blog, I did not change any theme as I could not find a clean and single column theme as clean as this. Although I changed the header picture, which I clicked last year in Doolin, Ireland.

dsc_0438-01

